pgmfi.org

Hacking up Honda's ECU
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PT3 question!
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:46 am
Posts: 5
I have a PT3 ECU and I know it can be chipped. I want to put a H23A VTEC in the car.
My question is:
Would a chipped PT3 ECU run a VTEC engine or not? If not, can it be converted to VTEC with OBD-I VTEC conversion kit or something else? And, what ROM should be burned into the chip?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PT3 question!
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 12:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:00 am
Posts: 204
Location: seattle washington, usa
enzoferrari wrote:
I have a PT3 ECU and I know it can be chipped.

Yes, but there is little support so most of the work has to be done by hand.
Quote:
I want to put a H23A VTEC in the car.

okay
Quote:
Would a chipped PT3 ECU run a VTEC engine or not?

I see no reason you can't use one of the outputs to control VTEC, if you do the work to provide PT3 support. Plus I am sure others would pay for your creation.
Quote:
And, what ROM should be burned into the chip?

probably one that works. Again, you will have to build the rom.

The easiest way to go about this would be to use a civic/integra ecu as they actually have support and rom editors that allow an easy user friendly interface. Yes, the PT3 can be chipped, put it is not for the faint of heart. If you wish to use your ecu for this I suggest studying up on hex, dis-assembly, assembly, and coding. I feel the project would be more self rewarding if you learn how to reuse the PT3, but I caution you of the difficulty without the proper skill set. There is much to be learned here but for your own sake, do some reading in the library before embarking.http://twiki.pgmfi.org/bin/view.pl/Library/WebHome


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PT3 question!
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:46 am
Posts: 5
I've read most of the library before and I'm skilled in electronic enough to be able to do the work. In a Civic/Integra ecu, there is a MOSFET switch (SK5151 if I'm correct) which supplies the power for the VTEC solenoid which is located at IC14. I opened the PT3 last day and found that IC14 is used for a different type of component and couldn't find the same switch or the same space to solder it. So, I'm not sure that this ECU is VTEC compatible or convertible. Anyone can help me about this?

I know that a Civic/Integra OBD-I chipped ecu is the easiest way to go, but I don't want to go for that, until I make sure that PT3 is not VTEC compatible or convertible and I HAVE to supply another ECU.

The inside image of my PT3 is attached.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PT3 question!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:00 am
Posts: 204
Location: seattle washington, usa
Using IC14 as an example, the lication ids dont generally cross betwen ecu families. IC14 in a civic ecu will be differnt than IC14 in a crv, in aa accord, in a prelude, and so on. You will likely have to find an unused mosfet option and add the nesessary components to make it work, then tell mcu what to do with. Option two would be to repurpose a mosfet output and tell the mcu its new instruction set for that output. Much can be done with many ecus, but I feel you have to pioneer most of it. I wish I could give you better help, but like I said, this ecu has not seen much exploration.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PT3 question!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:46 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for your input. If the pin used for the VTEC solenoid is the same in all Civic/Integra/Accord/etc OBD-I ECU's, I can find the original location reserved for operating VTEC MOSFET switch by routing the pin into the board. how do you think?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group